John MacArthur on Revelation

John MacArthur is one of my favorite Premil Revelation preachers.  Very little has to be said, after all, it was MacArthur who said every self-respecting Calvinist should be premil (or something to that effect).

Having grown up in a Southern Baptist church and having spent 10 years at Grace Community Church, I tend to favor the Premil camp.  But I am also trying to get my arms around the Amil position which is unfamiliar territory to me.  So, in addition to Azurdia’s audio, I have been wading through Craig Keener’s commentary and G.K. Beales NIGTC tome on Revelation.

MacArthur on Revelation >>>

7 thoughts on “John MacArthur on Revelation

  1. I may look for some material by Riddlebarger if I have time. I’m not doing an exhaustive study. Perhaps if I was a full-time pastor would, but I’m not.

    As for post-mil, I don’t find it a very convincing position. I’ve listen to a few folks try to defend that position over the years and they’ve always left me cold. I just don’t have time to cover that territory.

  2. I think all of them can stray from the plain meaning of Scripture in the particulars and all have some meaningful things to add to the discussion. I thought the video you pointed out was great, but the prior commitments of each the positions would’ve been a more productive debate. The extent to which “spiritualization” of texts is appropriate, what is the extent of totus christus, what does it mean for Christ to reign now, etc. are much more important and defining than Revelation 20:1-10.

  3. As a self-respecting post-mil Calvinist, MacArthur’s comments left me a little cold. A very thought-provoking sermon, that was. But not particularly satisfying for those outside that particular camp. I’d have been a bit more open if he’d not painted the issue with the broad brush stroke of personal theological integrity.

    Personally, I find his sermons to be quite intriguing enough without the overlay of a polarizing eschatology among theological allies.

    Chris

  4. Chris, I appreciate your comment. The post that I made about that particular Shepherd’s Conference to this date is still the highest visited post on my blog, and I received a lot of comments taking MacArthur to task on that (most of which I didn’t allow posted as that’s not the aim of this site).

    Though he might have been heavy handed in wrapping the theological integrity aspect, he touched on an issue that isn’t dealt with often, and that is the polarization of eschatology. And let’s face it, Christianity itself is polarizing. We shouldn’t be afraid or easily offended by that. We see it all through church history. And I appreciated his comments because I’ve often felt many in the amil and postmil camps polarizing eschatology by appealing to Calvin and the other reformers and Puritans almost as if they were divinely inspired.

    I think he’s been unfairly dogged about this sermon.

  5. I think he’s been unfairly dogged in certain quarters, too, actually, Todd. I find that sermon to be one of the most insightful defenses of premil Calvinism I’ve yet heard. (And one can probably count such defenses with the digits of a single hand.)

    It was very helpful to me, at least.

    I don’t for a moment dislike the controversy it generated. That’s how we learn.

    I just felt like an outsider while listening to it. Sort of along the lines of, “I really don’t like disagreeing with MacArthur.”

    BTW, I found that sermon via your blog! So, kudos for that.

    Chris

  6. Check out William Hendriksen’s More than Conquerors (Comm. on Revelation) Copyright 1940, Baker Book House, Grand Rapids, MI. It presents the amil position.

Leave a Reply

