Heresies in the Church, Michael Phillips

Michael Phillips, the pastor of Grace Baptist Church in Fremont, California, taught his congregation once a month on a specific doctrinal heresy from church history.  This kind of teaching is valuable in that it helps to sharpen our minds in exercising doctrinal discernment.  We gain great benefits by looking back on how the church handled the heresy.

 Some of the heresies he’s been looking at include Gnosticism, Judaism, Arianism, Pelagianism, the Iconoclast controversy, Transubstantiation, Liberalism, Neo-Orthodoxy, and Open Theism.

Heresies in the Church>>>

2 thoughts on “Heresies in the Church, Michael Phillips

  1. I enjoyed reading your paper particulkarly on the heresy of the rc doctrine of transubsantiation. I was a Roman Catholic all my life. I left the Roman catholic church in January 2006 initially at first because I was no longer in line with the current pope. I had become very anti papist gradually and while still a Roman Catholic however in recent years I came to also believe that this current pope Benedict was leading the Roman Catholic church back to pre Vatican II thinking and positions. I also think God has led me to become a Protestant and a Protestant who is in line with the Reformed Protestant theology.

    I initially became an Episcopalian in 2006 because I was comfortable with the similarities to the roman church. However I studied the Protestant reformation and I came to believe that the Reformed Protestants are the restoration of the church to its uncorrupted foundations. When Benedict reaffirmed the pre-Vatican II teaching 2 summers ago that Protestant churches are Ecclesial communities without the fullness of truth and said only the Roman Catholic church has the fullness of truth I was convinced I made the correct decision in leaving Roman Catholicism.

    I made an extensive study when I left Roman Catholicism in 2006. I have said I initially became an Episcopalian because I was comfortable with the similarities to the roman church. Since I left the roman catholic church I have explored besides the Episcopal church, the Lutheran, LCMS, and the ELC, the Methodist, several Baptist congregations and the Presbyterian church the OPC, PCA, and the PCusa. However as I studied the Protestant reformation I have come to believe that the Reformed Protestants are the restoration of the church to its uncorrupted foundations.

    I am in faith now a Reformed Protestant theologically.When I first became an Episcopalian I was still a sacramental Christian in beliefs and worship. I was simply no longer a roman catholic. My eyes were opened when I studied the Westminster confession of faith and the catechisms of the Presbyterian church long and short. I also had a major change in heart and belief regarding sacraments. I also came to believe that there were truly only 2 sacraments which are biblically correct Baptism and the Lords Supper.

    What I also have came to appreciate is that the Presbyterian services of worship is plain, simple, and dignified. I also like that the principal service in Presbyterian churches continues to be the “service of the Word,” built around Scripture readings, prayers, hymns, and a sermon, with the latter occupying the center of interest and not an over emphasis on the sacrament of the Lords Supper.

    I also came to not like the service in the Episcopal, Lutheran as well as the Roman Catholic church because instead of a table there worship it is an altar that began to me symbolize in my view as Calvin, Zwigli and Knox believed was a sacrifice not a meal.

    One of the points in which I liked Calvin is he differed from Luther was the nature of the elements in Holy Communion. Luther like Roman Catholics and most Lutherans held and still hold that Christ is “really present” in the bread and wine, in a mystic and miraculous way, although not in the literal sense of the Catholic doctrine of transubstantiation. Calvin felt that Luther’s view was much too close to transubstantiation, and insisted that the consecrated bread and wine must be regarded only as symbols, or “representations,” of the Lords body and blood.

    However I also now believe that how Christ makes himself present in the Lords Supper is a mystery of the infinite and should not be defined by finite men.
    In grace,
    Dudley

Leave a Reply

